Bahar Kampanyası
Carmen McRae: The Great American Songbook - Plak

The Great American Songbook - Plak

Format Türü: Plak, Format: 2 LP, Gramaj: 180 gr., RPM: 33 rpm.
3 iş günü içerisinde kargoya verilir.
Plakları özel kutularda gönderiyoruz. Daha fazla bilgi için tıklayınız.
Odyofil Plaklar (Nisan 2018) listesindeki tüm ürünleri görmek için tıklayınız
Bu Ürünün Diğer Format ya da Baskıları
Ürün Hakkında
Barkod: 5060149622469 , Katalog No: Pure Pleasure SD2-904 , Firma: Pure Pleasure , Yayınlanma Tarihi: 31 Mart 2018 , Orijinal Yıl: 1971
Format Türü: Plak, Format: 2 LP, Gramaj: 180 gr., RPM: 33 rpm.


This is a gem of an album and one of my favorites by McRae. It was recorded live for Atlantic Records at Donte's Club in Los Angeles on November 6, 1971 and released the following year. What I love is not only the choice of songs, but the sound quality and the performance itself. The set not only contains established standards by Ellington, Cole Porter and the other greats, but some new (at the time) material. Including Burt Bacharach's 'They Long To Be Close To You' in the set was a wise decision in my opinion. It deserves to be a standard. Of course there is the obligatory Billie Holiday song that McRae would include in all of her performances. On this album it's 'I Cried For You', which was one of Billie's first recordings in 1936. The sound quality is superb. The engineer managed to capture not only the energy from the live performance, but the richness of the ensemble backing McRae. Indeed, the musicians backing her are perfect for the material: Jimmy Rowles on piano (who wrote the 'Ballad' of Thelonious Monk), Joe Pass on guitar, Chuck Domanico on bass and Chuck Flores on drums. If you love hearing some of the best songs from the Great American Songbook performed by a master this album will delight you. There is a cohesiveness to the album that earns kudos from the production team as well as the performers. Interestingly McRae and her ensemble performed 32 songs the night that this was recorded. One can only speculate as to why a volume 2 wasn't released. Regardless, this is - in my opinion - some of McRae's best live material. Mike TarraniRecording: November 1971 live at Donte's, Los Angeles CA., by Ray Thompson Production: Jack RaelLP Release date: 06.12.2016
Eser Listesi
LP: 1
1. Satin Doll
2. At Long Last Love
3. If the Moon Turns Green
4. Day by Day
5. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life
6. I Only Have Eyes For You
7. Medley
8. Sunday
LP: 2
1. Song For You
2. I Cried For You
3. Behind the Face
4. Ballad of Thelonious Monk
5. There's No Such Thing as Love
6. They Long to Be Close to You
7. Three Little Words
8. Mr. Ugly
9. It's Like Reaching For the Moon
10. I Thought About You
Katkıda Bulunanlar
Bu Ürünler İlginizi Çekebilir
Sosyal Medyada Opus3a