Bahar Kampanyası
Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Harold Arlen Songbook - Plak

Ella Fitzgerald Sings the Harold Arlen Songbook - Plak

Format Türü: Plak, Format: 2 LP, Gramaj: 180 gr.
Bu Ürün Stoklarımıza Girince Haberdar Olmak İster Misiniz?
(+) Stoklara Girince Haber Ver
Bu Ürünün Diğer Format ya da Baskıları
Ürün Hakkında
Barkod: 8436559463706 , Katalog No: 772228 , Firma: WaxTime Records , Yayınlanma Tarihi: 1 Şubat 2019 , Orijinal Yıl: 1961
Format Türü: Plak, Format: 2 LP, Gramaj: 180 gr.


Recorded in 1960 and '61, this is one of the last and very best of Fitzgerald's songbooks spotlighting individual composers. Arlen's lyrical songs, filled with bluesy touches and abstractions from the blues form, are perfect jazz fodder (he wrote for Duke Ellington at the Cotton Club, circa 1930), and beautiful tunes in their own right. Fitzgerald is in peak voice; she's attentive to the nuances of soulful lyrics (Ira Gershwin's 'The Man That Got Away'), and lightly teases some witty ones (like Johnny Mercer's 'Ac-cent-tchu-ate the Positive'). Billy May's big-band arrangements are models of self-effacing fleetness--punchy without hysteria, smooth without syrup--and enlivened by alto saxophonist Benny Carter and trumpeter Don Fagerquist. But May also brings a delicate sensibility to introductory verses, interludes, and tender ballads. Strings on a few tracks are for variety, not window-dressing. Arlen's graceful American art songs have never had a better showcase--even if they could have skipped 'Ding! Dong! The Witch Is Dead.' --Kevin Whitehead
Eser Listesi
LP: 1
1. Blues In The Night
2. Let's Fall In Love
3. Stormy Weather
4. Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea
5. My Shining Hour
6. Hooray For Love
7. This Time The Dream's On Me
8. That Old Black Magic
9. I've Got The World On A String
10. Let's Take A Walk Around The Block
11. Ill Wind (You're Blowin' Me No Good)
12. Ac-Cent-Tchu-Ate The Positive
LP: 2
1. When The Sun Comes Out
2. Come Rain Or Come Shine
3. As Long As I Live
4. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe
5. It's Only A Paper Moon
6. The Man That Got Away
7. One For My Baby (And One More For The Road)
8. It Was Written In The Stars
9. Get Happy
10. I Gotta Right To Sing The Blues
11. Out Of This World
12. Over The Rainbow
13. Ding-Dong! The Witch Is Dead
14. Sing My Heart
Katkıda Bulunanlar
    Bu Ürünler İlginizi Çekebilir
    Sosyal Medyada Opus3a